​​To help ensure all Barry County children
have a great start in life. ​​
MEMBERSHIP
Parents of children (aged 12 or younger) who represent the diversity of the county must constitute at least 20 percent of the total membership. GSC parent members may not represent both an organization and the parent role. The Great Start Collaborative has diverse stakeholder membership with a variety of local service providers. The members will be those who are able to address selected outcomes. These individuals may include: Business leaders (e.g., a president of a local chamber of commerce, a director of workforce development or economic development for the county or a manufacturing association). Philanthropic and/or charitable organizations (e.g. the United Way, a community foundation, a service organization).
Faith-based organizations Organizations that provide services on behalf of minority populations in the county Intermediate School District Department of Public Health Department of Human Services Community Mental Health Hospital, health care system and/or managed care plan serving the area represented by the GSC Juvenile or family court judge Early On Representatives from home visitation and parenting education programs Head Start/Early Head Start Great Start Readiness program that serves the county Licensed Child Care Center and/or Home or Group Home The Great Start to Quality Resource Center Local school district superintendents and elementary principals Elected governmental officials
Regular attendance at Great Start meetings is preferred.  Members who miss three (3) consecutive meetings may be contacted to ascertain their interest in continued participation.  The member organization may be asked to appoint another representative who can attend the meetings regularly, has the authority to represent the organization and make decisions, and will actively participate. 

​MEMBERS ARE EXPECTED TO:
​ Agree to promote the mission and goals of the GSC Understand the purpose of the GSC, their role and responsibilities as a member, and actively participate in planning and decision making. Attend or send formal representation to GSC meetings on a regular basis. Attend three (3) of the five (5) meetings. Commit resources and make decisions on behalf of the organization (for organizational representatives).
The collaborative has open membership. The GSC may also include additional local organizations and stakeholders as members as they deem necessary to complete the GSC work.
First Name Organization Position E-mail
Andrea Kellogg Little Seedlings - Delton Teacher akellogg@dkschools.org
Amanda Hoeksma United Way Program Director amanda@bcunitedway.org
Annie Halle Barry Community Foundation Youth Program Director annie@barrycf.org
Bill Voigt Barry County Transit Director bvoigt@barrycountytransit.com
Carol VanDenBerg Barry ISD Special Ed Director cvandenberg@barryisd.org
Daryl Waggoner Barry ISD Coordinator - GSC dwaggoner@barryisd.org
Deb Cole Community Action Director debc@caascm.org
Ella Fabel-Ryder Childcare Resource Center Director ella@ccr4kids.org
Jennifer Baird Barry ISD Early On Coordinator jbaird@barryisd.org
Julie McMillen Barry Great Start Collaborative Family Coach jmcmillen@barryisd.org
Karen Jousma Family Support Center Director karen@familysupportbarry.com
Katie Acker Barry Great Start Collaborative Parent Liason kacker@barryisd.org
LeeAnn Miller Community Action Site Coordinator leeannm@caascm.org
Liz Lenz BC Substance Abuse Coordinator llenz@bccmha.org
Lori Ankoviak Safe Harbor Director lantkoviak@safeharborallegan.org
Marc LaForest Barry County DHS Services Supervisor LaForestM@michigan.gov
Marci McCoy YMCA of Barry County Y-Time marci@ymcaofbarrycounty.org
Marsha Bassett Pennock Physicians Network Director of Operations bassett@msu.edu
Mary Chapman Family Support Center Parent Aide mary@familysupportbarry.org
Matt Goebel Hastings Area School Curriculum Director mgoebel@hassk12.org
Michelle Martin BC Community Mental Health Children's Comm. Service Coord. mimartin@bccmha.org
Michelle Slaughter Head Start / Early Head Start Family Service Advocate michelles@caascm.org
Michelle Williamson Community Action CEO michellew@caascm.org
Rachel Ward GSC Parent Liaison rward@barryisd.org
Richard Franklin Barry ISD Superintendent rfranklin@barryisd.org
Robynn Harden Barry ISD Support Staff rharden@barryisd.org
Sally Keller Noah's Ark Preschool Director noahsark@firstchurchhastings.org
Sara Syswerda Pierce Cedar Creek Institute Education Director syswerdas@cedarcreekinstitute.org
Shanon Everett Barry ISD Early Childhood Contact severett@barryisd.org
Steve Scoville Delton Kellogg Elementary Principal sscoville@dkschools.org
Sue Eastman Pine Rest Counselor sue.eastman@pinerest.org
Susan Peters BEDHD speters@bedhd.org
Tom Johnson Johnson Accounting Retired CPA tjohn2463@gmail.com
Tom Wilt YMCA of Barry County Retired Director tomwilt@gmail.com

GSC Member Contact Information

Membership